

Nevada State Contractors Board

NEWS RELEASE

www.nscb.state.nv.us

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Art Nadler, Public Information Officer (702) 486-1100 x1139 or (775) 688-1141 x1139

Business Assistance Program Helps Contractor Applicants Prepare For Tests

Twenty-nine potential new contractors attended a Nevada State Contractors Board's Business Assistance Program workshop in Henderson on Jan. 5, 2006, and gained valuable insight into what to expect, when applying for a contractor's license in the state of Nevada.

They learned, for instance, that they had to have four *full* years of experience in a trade before applying for a license. Out-of-state references are very important, too, they were told, and must be included with an application – not submitted separately. And if they had a previous bankruptcy, that wasn't an issue, as long as they included the information in their application and weren't currently filing, or undergoing a bankruptcy.

Qualifying for a contractor's license isn't easy in Nevada, but it also doesn't have to be a scary experience. That's why the Nevada State Contractors Board

started its Business Assistance Program to help applicants wade through some of the extensive paperwork, and hopefully make the whole process more pleasant and efficient for applicants.

Licensing Consultant Lisa Bedsole conducts a monthly Business Assistance Program workshop in Henderson at the Nevada State Contractors Board offices, 2310 Corporate Circle, Suite 200, and bimonthly at the Board offices in Reno, 9670 Gateway Drive, Suite 100. Bedsole told her recent class that their contractor's examination will consist of two parts – a law exam detailing what would be required of them by the state of Nevada and a specific test for the trade they are seeking a license.

"Before you go to the test, you need to really study," Bedsole told the applicants. "We suggest that you review and study the suggested reading material. Every time you take the test, you pay PSI (the testing service) for the test."

Be prepared to pay \$600 the first time you apply for a contractor's license. This covers \$300 for the application, and the annual \$300 license fee. A portion of the \$600 fee, (\$300) will be returned if you don't pass the test. Each applicant gets three attempts to pass the law portion of the test and three tries at the trade portion.

Bedsole said that Board customer service representatives are available, if applicants want to have their applications reviewed before final submittal.

For information on February Business Assistance Program workshops, contact Lisa Bedsole at: 486-1100, ext. 1120 in Southern Nevada, or (775) 688-1141, ext. 1120 in Northern Nevada. She is also available by e-mail at: lbedsole@nscb.statte.nv.us

(Note: The Nevada State Contractors Board is not affiliated with any contractor licensing schools, or similar organizations that assist with studying for the various licensing exams.)

###